Posted By:
Open College Network NI (OCNNI)

13th Apr 2022

OPEN COLLEGE NETWORK NI (OCN NI) has revealed the shortlist for its fourth Learning Endeavour Awards 2022, which will take place ‘virtually’ via social media channels on April 27th.

OCN NI is an educational charity and awarding body that advances education by developing qualifications for adults and young people throughout NI.

The awards shortlist includes nominees from all over Northern Ireland and covers seven categories: Third Sector Learner of the Year, Further Education Learner of the Year, Health and Wellbeing Learner of the Year, Schools Learner of the Year, Advancing Learning Through Innovation, Provider of the Year and Inspiring Tutor/Teacher of the Year.

The calibre of entries has never been higher, explained Martin Flynn, Chief Executive of OCN NI: “This year’s judges had a very hard time whittling down the hundreds of entries due to the quality of the submissions. The shortlisted learners and organisations reflect the best of Northern Ireland and are shining examples of what hard work and determination can achieve, especially during times of difficulty like the pandemic.

“This year, we have introduced a learning bursary fund worth £11,500 for award winners and highly commended entrants to ensure that people are financially supported on their education journey and able to explore new and exciting pathways.

“In addition, to our virtual awards we will be hosting an in-person event at the Titanic Hotel on Wednesday 15th June with a very special guest, Carl Frampton, where we will be presenting the Hilary Sloan Learning Endeavour Award chosen from one of our category winners.

“We can’t wait to honour everyone at the awards hosted by radio personalities, Jordan Humphries and Steve Turnbull, on April 27th. And for those tuning in, we will have some great surprises”, concluded Martin.

The shortlists for the Learning Endeavour Awards 2022 are as follows.

Further Education Learner of the Year

  • Anas Alrefai, Belfast Met, Co Antrim
  • Eimear Loughran, SRC, Co Down
  • Ella Walsh, People 1st, Co Antrim
  • Rachel Maginn, SERC, Co Down
  • Rachel McCoy, NRC, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • Ruairi McLaughlin, NWRC, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • Samuel Mustoe, People 1st, Co Armagh
  • Daniela Geanta, Springvale, Co Antrim
Third Sector Learner of the Year

  • Ciara Hoey, Oh Yeah Centre, Co Down
  • Geordie Brown, Advantage NI, Co Antrim
  • Heaven Beltse, Start360, Co Antrim
  • Joanna Bower, Action Mental Health, Co Down
  • Pearse Donnelly, Bogside, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • Renatas Dirse, Action Mental Health, Co Tyrone
  • Zara May Kennedy, Start360, Co Antrim
Schools Learner of the Year

  • Aidan McIlwee, St Patrick’s College, Co Tyrone
  • Aimee Hughes, St Catherine’s College, Co Tyrone
  • Caolan O’Kane, St Patrick’s College, Co Tyrone
  • Courtney Howard, Lakewood School, Co Down
  • Daniele Linkeviciute, St Patrick’s College, Co Tyrone
  • Dylan Massey, Thornfield House School, Co Antrim
  • Matthew Warnock, Limavady High School, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • Tom Comiskey, St Patrick’s College, Co Tyrone
Health & Well-being Learner of the Year

  • Andy Munzier, Start360, Co Antrim
  • Heaven Beltse, Start360, Co Antrim
  • Joanna Bower, Action Mental Health, Co Down
  • Kezia Megahey, Action Mental Health, Co Antrim
  • Kathi Moore, Action Mental Health, Co Down
  • Linde Schmundt , Action Mental Health, Co Down
  • Megan Brannigan, Sally Gardens, Co Antrim
  • Naomi Wright, Sally Gardens, Co Antrim
Inspiring Tutor/Teacher of the Year

  • Anne Marie McKenna, NRC, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • Carmel Kernahan, Start360, Co Antrim
  • Craig Wilson, Oasis, Co Antrim
  • Fred Brown, Include Youth, Co Down
  • George Dallas, Limavady High School, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • George Moffett, Clanyre, Co Tyrone
  • Michael Bradley , Belfast Met, Co Antrim
  • Pauline McDiarmid, NRC, Co Antrim
Provider of the Year

  • Bogside and Brandywell Health Forum, Co Derry~Londonderry
  • Bryson Futureskills, Co Antrim
  • Connected Academy, Co Antrim
  • Include Youth, Co Antrim
  • LifeDock Training, Co Antrim
  • Oh Yeah Music Centre, Co Antrim
  • St Marys High School, Co Down
  • Start360, Co Antrim

Advancing Learning Through Innovation

  • South Eastern Regional College, Co Antrim
  • Southern Regional College, Co Armagh
  • Supporting Communities, Co Antrim

The OCN NI Learning Endeavour Awards 2022 will take place at 11am on Wed 27th April – click here for further information https://www.ocnni.org.uk/learner-awards/learner-awards-2022.